On the night of Saturday, June 17, 2017, the expected match between Andre Ward and Sergey Kovalev took place. The Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas has hosted the WBA, IBF and WBO light heavyweight title match, the second between the two boxers mentioned above.
As in the first fight of November 2016, this time there have been controversy. If in that case the judges' verdict seemed to be wrong, this time it is the referee's work to raise doubts. The winner was again Ward who in the eighth round hit the Russian heavily by putting him on the ropes. Kovalev leaned forward against the strings, stopped answering while Ward hit him repeatedly.
To kick off the controversy some low blows with which Ward seems to have hit the Russian, then forced to bend from the pain. However, the referee does not seem to have seen such strikes, but instead decides the win for technical knockout in favor of the American. The Russian also seemed to be able to continue, leaving it to think that perhaps the referee had prematurely interrupted the match.
A controversial final, however, does not erase the goodness of Andre Ward, who has heavily shaken the Russian who had the match in hand at the time of the stop. With this victory, Ward confirms number 1 of light heavyweight, although the controversial final leaves room for some controversy.